6 LED Lighting Certifications: UL, DLC, CSA, ETL, CE and RoHS. What Are They, and What Do They Mean?

When you’re buying LED light bulbs and LED fixtures, just trusting the seller isn’t enough. Luckily, there are organizations that uphold safety standards with testing and certification. That’s why you might see the abbreviations UL, DLC, CSA, ETL, and CE on products. What are they, and what do they mean? In short, they’re stamps of approval.

UL: Underwriters Laboratories

This independent nonprofit organization has been in existence for more than a century and developed more than 800 safety standards. UL is the highest-profile listing, and its initials are recognized all over the world. “UL-Listed” means that the organization has tested samples of the product and that they meet its standards. “UL-Recognized” means that parts of the product have been tested and approved for use. UL can also tell you where you can use a light: indoors, outdoors, or in dry, damp, or wet locations.

DLC: DesignLights Consortium

At Revolve LED, we’re proud to post another certification. DLC is a collaborating body consisting of federal, state, and local utilities and energy-efficiency programs. Its members include lighting designers, manufacturers, and other industry members. The DLC has a list of products that are held to standards for higher quality and efficiency in commercial lighting. Very often, the DLC will offer a rebate for approved products. You can find out more by contacting your local energy provider.

CSA: Canadian Standards Association

Established in 1919, the CSA is a nonprofit that certifies electrical appliances, machinery, equipment, medical devices, and more. Its standards are largely based on American safety requirements. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has backed the CSA as an alternative to UL.

ETL: Electrical Testing Laboratories

This organization was originally founded by Thomas Edison in 1896 as the Lamp Testing Bureau. What started out as a light bulb only organization has grown to encompass more than 200 items, testing products to US safety standards. The ETL also audits manufacturing sites and follows up with periodic inspections.

CE: Conformité Européenne

Before certain products can be sold in the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, or Norway, they have to earn this stamp. Without it, the countries will issue fines to the seller. Just ensure that it’s the correct “CE” certification.

RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances

All Konlite LED products are RoHS. RoHS originated in the European Union and restricts the use of specific hazardous metals within electrical and electron products. These restricted materials are hazardous to the environment, pollute landfills and are dangerous in terms of occupational exposure during manufacturing and recycling. These include: Lead, Mercury, Cadmium, Hexavalent Chromium, PBB, PBDE, and 4 types of Phthalates.

What are UL, DLC, CSA, ETL, CE and RoHS and what do they mean? They mean you don’t just have to take a sales associate’s word for safe, efficient, high-quality lighting. Click around Revolve LED’s website and you’ll find everything from emergency lights to LED flood lights for sale with these stamps of approval. We stand by all our products, and we’re here to answer any questions you might have.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published